Surviving Your Final Semester During A Global Pandemic

IMG_1968

First thing’s first – I can’t actually believe I’m in my final semester of my masters degree. I suppose that’s the thing with a one year course, it flies over.

It hasn’t been the easiest year though, for very obvious reasons. I can categorically say that I never thought going back to University would result in my studies being disrupted by a global pandemic.

Did I consider dropping out? Of course I did. I was actually already struggling due to personal reasons before Covid-19 came along and disrupted everything so yeah, it’s been tough. It still is…but I’m so close to the finish line now!

These next few months will be even tougher and I really need to knuckle down and focus on my studies. I thought I’d do a little post to offer some tips on how to deal with your final semester, for those who may be feeling the same.

1. PLAN IT OUT

Life at the moment is already quite stressful and all over the place, so the best thing to do is to properly plan the work you have to do out to keep you on the right path. I’ve found it helpful to put up post-it notes at the side of my bed so that I know exactly what work I still need to do. Having that reminder every morning also forces me to plan parts of my work out and chip away at it.

2. TALK TO YOUR PEERS 

Check in with your peers and student pals because seriously, we’re all in the same boat. Make sure they’re ok, bounce ideas off each other and share tips or things that you think may help. Just because we’re not all sitting in a classroom together anymore doesn’t mean that we can’t help each other out!

3. ASK FOR HELP

I’ll hold my hands up and say I’m the worst at asking for help. I get myself to a point of absolute panic and THEN decide to speak to my lecturers about it – it’s what I’ve always done, even back in school. I’m learning though. My lecturers have been amazing these past few months, checking in with us with regards to our personal lives and our studies. I know now that if I have any questions or queries, I can go to them straight away and I’m not being a pain or annoying. It’s what they are there for!

4. GIVE YOURSELF A BREAK

I mean this both literally and figuratively. Life is honestly hard enough already at the moment without putting even more pressure on yourself, so try not to be too hard on yourself and just take it all one step at a time. If it’s feeling a bit too much then take a break, have a cuppa and gather your thoughts to go at it again. We’re only human!

There you go – 4 easy tips that you probably already knew but maybe you just forgot. Final semester or final year of Uni is hard and of course you need to put pressure on yourself to get the work done, but also remember to be kind to yourself as well.

2020 has been tough, but we’ve got this. Good luck!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started